Well with only three days notice for a five year old’s birthday…what do you do?!

Easton was invited to a young girl’s birthday, from her Pre-school class, Gianna Campisi. I knew right away what I was going to make for her gift. She is very similar to Easton with her love of anything princess/dance related, and my mind instantly went to the few meters of fabric I had just thrifted from our local “Sally Ann” (Salvation Army).

It was a beautiful šŸ˜‰ sequined aqua fabric, truly only dreamt up for a young girl of 4 or 5…or some figure skater or drag queen…dreamy!!! A little purple and aqua tule, sequined braid, elastic and silk lining…wa-la…a skirt made for only twirling and swirling. A tank top, equally “bedazzled” with sequins, ribbonĀ and braid and there you have it…it was a hit!!! 4 days later…according to Gianna’s mum, Brandi, she was still wearing it having not taken it off…even for bed.

Gianna's twirling skirt

Ā Easton, was of course…intensely happy for Gianna, whilst simutaneously immensely jealous. I promised I would make herĀ a twirly skirtĀ for her girlfriend, Ella’s 5th birthday which was a “dance party”. She was exstatic, needless to say when I pulled it out on the day. Tasman was shattered! Where was his dance outfit?!!! Well last minute pressure always brings out the best in me…I whipped him up a Travolta/Saturday Night Fever style matching sequined shirt to wear with his authentic 70’s brown polyester 3-piece suit. A little tule buttonhole and was the styliest man at the party! The pictures aren’t great but you get the idea.

