Mae Tai Mosaic

As our not-so-little man is not-so-little anymore, carrying him on my front can be tiring on my lower back after a while. While the Baby Bjorn we’ve been using is still awesome for quick trips out and about, it’s that time of day when he’s getting crabby & I’m trying to prepare dinner that the front pack just isn’t cutting it. (It’s hard to get anything done when can’t see your hands!) I’ve been looking around at slings & carriers that I could sew & could be worn on your back. I decided to make ‘Beths Mei Tai‘. There are lots of patterns out there but I chose this one as she had fantastic step-by-step instructions, with photos included (imperative for the novice sewer) and it was a Mei Tai/wrap combo with really wide unpadded shoulder straps that I felt would distribute the weight better. This design has a pocket and sleep hood included. I added a strap with a press-stud snap (just have to use my snap machine 😉 ) for keys.

It took a couple of nights, and one morning of Narnie babysitting Giles to get it finished. I’m really pleased with how it turned out. Groovy looking and super comfortable! It is a little big for Giles’ short legs (Mark says he’s doing the splits) but it means it will be good until he is quite a bit older. It is sewn from lightweight canvas so is really strong, but also soft & comfortable.

I love it. Easy to sew & comfy to wear. Giles loves being in it when we cook dinner in the evenings .We’ll report back after a shopping trip or the like as to how it fared……

